New Life: Day 1

When school’s closure was announced I was happy, as any kid would be. 

The first few days I would marvel at the idea of no more assignments, grades, or tests. I would just sit around and do as I pleased. But now seeing that school will be closed — not for 4 weeks, but the whole year –I realize that I don’t want this valuable learning time to go to waste. 

So here I am, writing on a computer as an assignment from my parents, and now temporary teachers. Shortly after this, I am going to eat lunch then do math. This is my first day of “school” and I’m not sure how I feel about it. Time seems to creep by ever so slowly. I also have mixed feelings about school being closed. There are some teachers that I am happy to not see such as Mrs T. and Castro. but there are some I will miss, like Mr. Wulff, Ms. Lukins, and Ms.Marquez. Also, not being able to see my friends is really devastating for me. Family members are losing jobs, people are dying, the economy is almost non-existent with no one working, and yet, in the grand scheme of things my problems are trivial. So here I am writing about my day on the floor. It is quite surreal. 

As there are only 5 more minutes of class; this is where my journal will end. I am anxious to see what the future will bring and am ready for lunch. Bye!

One thought on “New Life: Day 1”

  1. Well done! I look forward to writing and talking about writing with you, daughter mine. I have taught writing for decades, and for what good it is all if I cannot teach my own daughter….? To write well is to think well, and that is the real stuff of learning.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started